Best AI scribes for therapists and counsellors in the UK in 2026, checked one by one
We opened the websites of 12 AI scribes on 9 October 2026. Here is each one's price in £, data hosting, target users and MHRA status, as stated by the vendor.
Countries covered : United Kingdom
An AI scribe is software that captures what is said in a consultation and drafts a clinical note for the practitioner to review. For UK therapists, the real question is which one fits a UK practice, budget and data rules.
This page compares 10 tools used or marketed by therapists, plus two NHS-focused tools. It does not rank them. Each tool gets the same grid, filled only from its own website. If you want the broader picture first, read our guide to AI notes for therapists in the UK.
How we checked
On the evening of 9 October 2026, we opened each vendor's official pages listed in the Sources section. We wrote down only what we read there. Each fact below is phrased as "according to its website" because we did not test the products or audit their claims.
- Price in £: the price as shown on the page that night. If the page showed another currency, we say "not stated in £". If it asked you to book a demo, we say "on request".
- Where data is hosted: the location stated on the page we opened, or "not stated".
- Who it targets: the professions or settings the vendor names.
- MHRA status: any registration or medical device class the page displays, or "not stated".
Prices change often, so check the vendor's page again before you sign up.
What to look for in an AI scribe
Before comparing prices, it helps to know which questions matter for therapy work in the UK.
- Where your clients' data is stored. Ask for the country and the hosting provider in writing.
- The contract. Ask any provider for its data processing agreement before you use it with real clients.
- Regulatory status. If a vendor says its tool is a medical device, ask for the class and the registration. If it says nothing, ask whether it considers the tool a medical device.
- Audio handling. Ask whether audio is kept, for how long, and whether data is used to train models.
- Your setting. Some tools are full practice management systems with a scribe added. Others focus on the session note. Pick the shape that matches how you work.
The tools, checked one by one
The order below is not a ranking. "Not stated" means we did not find the information on the pages listed in the Sources section. It does not mean the vendor has no answer.
Heidi
- Price in £: not stated in £. According to its pricing page, the plans are Free, Clinician, Practice and Enterprise.
- Where data is hosted: in the UK. According to its UK page, "all our data is locally hosted within the UK".
- Who it targets: according to its UK page, "both the NHS and private practice".
- MHRA status: not stated on the pages we opened. Its UK page says Heidi is "NHS approved" and "compliant with DTAC".
- Who it suits, in its own words: clinicians in the NHS or in private practice who want UK hosting. We compare it with Delta in more detail in Delta vs Heidi.
Upheal
- Price in £: according to its UK pricing page, Free at £0 per month, AI notes at £29 per month, an AI Assistant Pro add-on at £29 per month, EHR at £0.70 per session and EHR Pro at £69 per month.
- Where data is hosted: not stated on its UK pricing page. The page footer says "100% HIPAA compliant", which is a US standard, and one plan mentions "GDPR-compliant telehealth".
- Who it targets: according to its website, "mental health professionals", with plans for solo providers and group practices.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: solo and group mental health practitioners who want notes, and optionally a full EHR, priced in pounds.
Jane
- Price in £: according to its UK AI Scribe FAQ, AI Scribe Unlimited is £15 per month per practitioner, billed in GBP, with five free notes per month per practitioner. The same FAQ says a Balance, Practice or Thrive plan is required. We did not re-check the price of those plans in £.
- Where data is hosted: according to its UK FAQ, data for UK clinics is stored on servers in London.
- Who it targets: clinics based in the United Kingdom, in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, according to the same FAQ.
- MHRA status: according to its UK FAQ, AI Scribe is classified as a Class I medical device and registered with the MHRA.
- Who it suits, in its own words: UK clinics that already run their practice on Jane.
WriteUpp
- Price in £: according to its website, Flex from £19.95 per user per month, Solo from £27.95, Solo + AI Scribe from £49.95 per month and Group from £45.95. The AI Medical Scribe add-on is £23.95 per user per month. Prices are shown excluding tax where applicable.
- Where data is hosted: not stated on its pricing page, whose footer shows an ISO certification badge.
- Who it targets: according to its website, professions including counsellors, psychotherapy, psychology, physiotherapy and speech and language therapy. It says it has helped over 50,000 clinicians.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: independent practitioners and groups who want practice management, booking and an optional AI scribe in one system.
Zanda
- Price in £: according to its UK pricing page, Starter is £15 per month for one practitioner. Growth is £25 per month plus £15 per additional practitioner. The page also showed an offer of 50% off for the first 6 months. AI Core is included with every plan and covers 4 AI Scribe appointments per month. AI Pro, with unlimited AI Scribe under a fair use policy, is £19 per user per month.
- Where data is hosted: not stated. The page describes its infrastructure as ISO 27001-certified and says it never uses client data to train AI models.
- Who it targets: according to its website, new, solo and group practices, in fields that include psychology, counselling, therapy, physiotherapy and occupational therapy.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: practices of any size that want practice management first, with AI notes included or as an add-on.
Pabau
- Price in £: not stated in £ on the pricing page we opened. The only figure we saw was $62 per month, and the page has a UK option among its location flags.
- Where data is hosted: not stated.
- Who it targets: according to its website, specialties such as medical aesthetics, dermatology, general practice, mental health and wellness.
- MHRA status: not stated. The pricing table lists "Unlimited & free Pabau Scribe".
- Who it suits, in its own words: clinics, often in aesthetics and wellness, that want a full practice platform with a scribe included.
Semble
- Price in £: not stated on the home page we opened.
- Where data is hosted: not stated on its home page.
- Who it targets: according to its website, outpatient providers, from solo practitioners to larger groups.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: private outpatient clinics that want a full system. The site mentions AI-powered notes.
Mentalyc
- Price in £: not stated in £. According to its pricing page, solo plans run from USD 14.99 to USD 99.99 per month billed annually.
- Where data is hosted: not stated. The page lists HIPAA and PHIPA compliance and does not mention the UK or GDPR.
- Who it targets: according to its website, individual clinicians and group practices. It says it is trusted by 30,000+ clinicians.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: therapists who want a note tool only, mainly in markets covered by HIPAA and PHIPA.
Blueprint
- Price in £: not stated in £. According to its pricing page, plans are priced per session in dollars, for example $0.99 or $1.49 per session, with an Enterprise tier on custom pricing.
- Where data is hosted: not stated. The page does not mention the UK or GDPR.
- Who it targets: according to its website, mental health professionals and organisations. It says it is trusted by over 70,000 mental health professionals.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: mental health practitioners who prefer to pay per session.
Autonotes
- Price in £: not stated in £. According to its website, plans start at $19 per month per clinician on monthly billing.
- Where data is hosted: not stated. Its website mentions HIPAA and PHIPA. It does not mention the UK or GDPR.
- Who it targets: according to its website, therapists and social workers, with 81,000+ clinicians across the US and Canada.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: behavioural health clinicians in the US and Canada.
Two NHS-focused tools
These two websites aim at NHS organisations rather than independent therapists.
Tortus
- Price in £: not stated.
- Where data is hosted: not stated.
- Who it targets: according to its website, NHS Trusts, partners, and GPs through X-on Surgery Connect. It says it reaches 1,000+ NHS organisations.
- MHRA status: the MHRA is not named. According to its website, it is a UKCA Class IIa medical device certified by a UK Approved Body.
- Who it suits, in its own words: NHS Trusts and GP practices.
Accurx Scribe
- Price in £: not stated on the Scribe page, which links to a separate pricing page.
- Where data is hosted: not stated.
- Who it targets: according to its Scribe page, general practice and secondary care. For GPs, it says Scribe saves to EMIS and SystmOne.
- MHRA status: not stated.
- Who it suits, in its own words: NHS services, mainly GP practices and hospitals.
Where Delta fits, and its limits
We publish this page, so here is Delta with the same grid. Delta is an AI assistant for mental health and allied health practitioners. During the session, it transcribes what is said, then prepares a session report that you review. You can also dictate observations right after the session, or add written notes. The report is added to the client's file, so the follow-up sits in one place. Delta takes into account your profession and therapeutic approach, such as CBT, EMDR, psychodynamic, systemic or person-centred work. It also drafts assessment reports, letters and certificates for you to check.
Data is hosted in France with a host certified for health data (HDS, the French health data hosting certification). AI processing, transcription included, runs on servers located in France. The client's name and identifying details are pseudonymised before AI processing. No audio file is kept, data is never used to train models, and data is encrypted in transit and at rest.
The limits matter for a UK reader.
- Prices are shown in euros only, with no £ price, on its pricing page. The Free plan is €0 with 10 sessions per month. The Pro plan is €29 per month incl. VAT, billed annually (€348 per year), with a 14-day free trial and no card.
- Hosting is in France, not the UK. Our article on UK client data stored in the EU covers what to ask.
- The features described here cover session reports and clinical documents. If you want booking and invoicing in the same system, look at the practice management tools above.
- As with any provider, ask for its data processing agreement before use.
If you also work with psychiatrists or compare general chatbots, see AI scribes for psychiatrists and Delta vs ChatGPT.
How to shortlist
- For diary, invoices and notes in one system, look at Jane, WriteUpp, Zanda, Pabau or Semble.
- For a tool focused on the session note, look at Heidi, Upheal, Mentalyc, Blueprint, Autonotes or Delta.
- If UK hosting is a firm requirement for you, note that Heidi and Jane state it on the pages we read.
- If you need a stated MHRA registration, Jane is the only one of the 10 that displayed it on the pages we opened.
Then trial it on non-client material and read every draft. The note stays your responsibility.
Which AI scribe for therapists is registered with the MHRA?
Among the 10 therapist tools we checked, only Jane displayed an MHRA registration for its AI Scribe, as a Class I medical device, according to its UK FAQ. Tortus, an NHS-focused tool, says it is certified as a UKCA Class IIa medical device. The other websites did not state an MHRA status on the pages we opened.
Which AI scribes show prices in pounds?
On the pages we opened, Upheal, Jane (for AI Scribe), WriteUpp and Zanda showed prices in £. Heidi listed plans without prices, and Semble showed no price on its home page. Mentalyc, Blueprint and Autonotes showed US dollars. Pabau showed a dollar figure on the page we opened, with a UK location option.
Can I use a US-focused AI scribe with UK clients?
Several US-focused sites mention HIPAA or PHIPA and say nothing about the UK or GDPR on the pages we read. Ask the vendor where data is stored, whether it offers a data processing agreement, and how it handles UK clients.
Do I need to tell clients I use an AI scribe?
Jane's UK FAQ advises telling patients before the appointment and letting them ask questions or opt out. It also suggests checking your professional body's guidance. Being open with clients is good practice whichever tool you use.
Is it a problem if the tool hosts data in the EU rather than the UK?
Hosting location is one factor among several, along with the contract and security measures. Heidi and Jane state UK hosting on their sites, Delta states France, and several tools do not state a location. Look at your own data protection assessment and ask each provider for its data processing agreement.
Is a general chatbot an alternative to an AI scribe?
Some practitioners paste notes into a general chatbot. Check what the provider says about data use, storage and contracts before doing so with client information.
Sources
All pages opened on 9 October 2026.
- Heidi, UK page
- Heidi, pricing
- Upheal, UK pricing
- Jane, AI Scribe for the UK FAQ
- WriteUpp, pricing
- Zanda, UK pricing
- Pabau, pricing
- Semble, home page
- Mentalyc, pricing
- Blueprint, pricing
- Autonotes, home page
- Tortus, home page
- Accurx, Scribe
Try Delta for 14 days
Try Delta free for 14 days, no card needed, and review every draft before it goes into the client's file.
Try it free